The Restarts – Outsider LP


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: PPR338B1-1 Categories: ,


Pressing – Clear w/ Black Smoke

After forging relationships with numerous underground labels and distros releasing 7″s, tapes, LPs, and CDs, by 2006, UK punks The Restarts were ready to bring their operations in-house. Drummer Darragh O’Neill invested in a 24-track digital recorder, and the band got to work crafting the recordings that would ultimately become the Outsider LP on their own.

Following that same DIY spirit, the band designed their own packaging featuring art by bassist/vocalist Kieran Plunkett that would become some of the band’s most iconic and recognizable imagery. Furthermore, they formed their own label, called (what else?) No Label Records, to self-release Outsider with help from the aforementioned relationships with distros such as Active Distribution.

Sonically, the album represented a step forward in every way for the band, with the addition of Robin Licker on guitar and vocals injecting new energy into the band’s established raging sound. The band found themselves including more ska breaks alongside thrashier crowd-pleasers like “They’re On To You” and “Koyaanisqatsi,” as well as stepping into anthemic territory with mid-tempo rabble-rousers like “Bolloxology” and the title track “Outsider.”

The resulting record is the sound of a band who had put in years of hard work, indeed coming into their own and forging their path forward on their terms. Fans across the world recognized this and gave Outsider an enthusiastic reception.

THE RESTARTS and Pirates Press Records are proud to put this exceptional LP back in print to make all that noise all over again!

Side A:
1. Outsider
2. They’re On To You
3. Enemy’s Enemy
4. Cluster Bombs
5. No Escape
6. Blown It
7. Running Out of Time

Side B:
8. Intelligent Design
9. Wake Up
10. Still Bored
11. Mindless Violence
12. Koynaanisqatsi
13. Bolloxology

Additional information

Weight 0.251 kg