The Restarts – ASW 1996-1998 LP


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: PPR336B1-1 Categories: ,


Pressing – Clear w/ Black Smoke

At long last, the complete back catalog of influential UK political punks The Restarts will be widely available across the world, starting with their earliest recordings!

Actively Seeking Work: 1996-1998 collects the studio recordings of the band from their very inception. It all began with a DIY cassette tape released in 1996, which was – to the band’s pleasant surprise – reproduced around the Czech Republic and Poland, translated lyric sheet and all, by Malarie Records. Also included on this LP are the tracks from their debut 7″ Frustration and the 1997 EP …Just Gets Worse, both of which saw vinyl releases through Blind Destruction Records. The final batch of songs comes from State Rape, which was originally the Restarts’ half of a split LP with London’s Zero Tolerance, and was subsequently released on CD as a split with Holland’s Fleas and Lice.

Taken together, these recordings chart the early chaotic evolution of the band as they built the reputation and recognition they now enjoy among the international DIY punk scene. This collection has been out of print for over ten years after an initial Europe-only pressing, and Pirates Press Records is thrilled to present its first worldwide release as the opening salvo of a four LP Restarts reissue campaign that will bring their full discography back in print with wide distribution for the first time!

1. Delirium Tremens
2. Frustration
3. Fuck The Lottery
4. New Way
5. No Confidence
6. Disconnected
7. Just Gets Worse
8. Mind Your Own Business
9. Dysfunction
10. Boozin
11. Gang Mentality

12. Hate You
13. Victimization
14. Contempt
15. Exterminate
16. State Rape
17. Divide And Rule
18. Fare Evasion
19. The Ladder
20. Drunken Voices
21. Tinpot Hitler
22. Parasite Monarchy
23. Times Hard

Additional information

Weight 0.251 kg