We’re very excited to announce the release of ‘Taxman’, the first single from Bruise Control‘s debut album ‘Useless For Something’. Their album is also now available to pre-order from the TNSrecords webstore.

Sitting somewhere between 00’s indie and 80’s hardcore, Manchester-based loudmouths Bruise Control have carved themselves an unlikely name in DIY punk. In their wake they’ve left a handful of self-produced releases and a notoriety for chaotic live shows. In true DIY fashion, the album has been mixed and produced by the band’s guitarist Niall Griffin keeping the core sound as true as possible.

Photo of Bruise Control
Credit – Morgan Roberts

‘Useless For Something’ is available on vinyl (both transparent and transparent red varients), CD and tape. The first 50 orders will also get an exclusive photo print with the album.

Few debut albums are as eagerly anticipated as this one and for good reason. With a tour, endless runs of merch, and an Albert Hall performance of a lifetime supporting Australian rockers Amyl and the Sniffers already on the band’s CV, 2023 is looking to be a big year for Bruise Control.

‘Taxman’ – The first single from Bruise Control’s debut album ‘Useless for Something’, is also out today. ‘Taxman’ is a heavy hitting garage punk rager, and a pointed attack on the UK’s right-wing government. Born out of voice notes in group chats, the song has been a mainstay of the bands live performances and a fan favourite since the beginning. Frontman Jim Taylor rallies the crowd with ferocious shouts of ‘You’ll never be forgiven’, while Tommy Victor Morris (Drums) Niall Griffin (Guitar, Bass) and Devon cryer (Guitar) provide a powerful and melodic backdrop for the song’s aggressive lyrics.

The single is released with b-side ‘Spinners Mill’. ‘Spinners Mill’ details introspection and self doubt through a juxtaposed dance-punk instrumental. Recorded in one weekend with Fair Do’s producer/frontman Danny Cummings, the song is a more polished take on the bands sound.

Pick-up the album now –